DPNM Announces Results of SCC Vote to Determine Democratic Nominee in CD-1

DPNM Announces Results of SCC Vote to Determine Democratic Nominee in CD-1

201 Democratic State Central Committee (SCC) members in CD-1 cast their final votes today to determine who will be the Democratic nominee for the first Congressional District seat recently vacated by Secretary Deb Haaland. 

State Central Committee members voted remotely, in accordance with Democratic Party of New Mexico (DPNM) rules, and had the option to submit an electronic, paper, or phone ballot. The voting system was secured according to DPNM procedures, and the ballots are available to anyone who requests them for the next 90 days. 

Candidates for the nomination included State Senator Antoinette Sedillo Lopez, State Representative Georgene Louis, State Representative Patricia Roybal Caballero, State Representative Melanie Stansbury, Francisco Fernández, Selinda Guerrero, Randi McGinn, and Victor Reyes. Candidates must receive 50% plus 1 vote in order to secure the nomination. 

The results are as follows:

Melanie Stansbury – 103 votes, 51.24%

Antoinette Sedillo Lopez – 97 votes, 48.26%

In addition, one person wrote in “ABSTAIN”

Therefore, Melanie Stansbury has received 51.24% of the votes and is the Democratic nominee in the CD-1 general election, which will take place on June 1, 2021.

“We are so grateful for all of our incredible candidates and the strong campaigns they’ve run over the last few months,” said DPNM Chair Marg Elliston. “This has been a fantastic opportunity to hear from so many of our leading Democrats about the issues that matter most to voters. Every campaign ran a great race, and now we look forward to coming together to put our full support behind Representative Melanie Stansbury.”


Help Protect Our Democracy

Join today to make sure that New Mexico continues to elect Democrats who will protect our democracy and uphold our ideals