DPNM Holds State Pre-Primary Convention

DPNM Holds State Pre-Primary Convention

Delegates from 28 counties cast votes to determine ballot order in Statewide and Congressional races

Speakers emphasized Democratic unity and enthusiasm ahead of the 2020 elections

POJOAQUE, NM — DPNM today held a successful state pre-primary convention following weeks of DPNM staff and officers traveling to county and ward conventions. Over one thousand delegates from 28 New Mexico counties attended the meeting, where Democrats heard from candidates, approved a new platform, and voted to determine ballot order. 

Democratic Party of New Mexico Chair Marg Elliston was elected Chair of the Convention and oversaw speeches and presentations from elected officials, candidates, and party leaders. Throughout the day, Democrats emphasized the importance of uniting around our common ideals in order to defeat Republican candidates in November. 

“We have so many incredible candidates running for office this year, and we’re excited to see Democrats across New Mexico energized by these campaigns,” said DPNM Chair Marg Elliston during her speech at the convention. “This November, New Mexicans are going to have the opportunity to elect leaders who truly represent our values. We’re looking forward to organizing, donating, volunteering, and turning out to vote like never before. The Democratic Party of New Mexico is starting strong, and we’re excited to have each and every one of you on our side as we head into this critical election.”

Delegates at the convention voted for Statewide and Congressional candidates in order to determine ballot order in the June 2 Democratic Primary. Candidates had to receive at least 20% of the vote in order to qualify for the ballot through pre-primary convention designation. Those who do not qualify through pre-primary convention designation can collect additional signatures in order to be placed on the ballot. 

According to preliminary numbers, candidates received the following percentage of the vote: 

United States Senate

Representative Ben Ray Luján: 100%

New Mexico Supreme Court

Justice Shannon Bacon: 100%

Justice David Thomson: 100%

New Mexico Court of Appeals

Judge Zach Ives: 100%

Judge Shammara Henderson: 100%

U.S. House of Representatives – CD1

Representative Deb Haaland: 100% 

U.S. House of Representatives – CD2

Representative Xochitl Torres Small – 100%

U.S. House of Representatives – CD3

Teresa Leger Fernandez – 41.88%

Laura Montoya – 20.47%

Marco Serna – 13.41%

Joseph Sanchez – 12.23%

Valerie Plame – 5.18%

John Blair – 4.47%

Kyle Tisdel – 2.35%

The Democratic Party of New Mexico also approved a new platform with 96% support and passed a rule change that allows for absentee balloting with 89% support. 


Help Protect Our Democracy

Join today to make sure that New Mexico continues to elect Democrats who will protect our democracy and uphold our ideals