DPNM Statement on the Anniversary of January 6th Attacks on the United States Capitol

DPNM Statement on the Anniversary of January 6th Attacks on the United States Capitol

Today marks one year since armed insurrectionists stormed the US Capitol in an attempt to prevent the certification of a free and fair election. This direct attack on our democracy injured nearly 140 law enforcement officers and killed five people. In the aftermath of this tragedy, Americans from various political parties spoke out against the attacks and united to mourn the lives lost that day.

In the year since this horrific attack, New Mexico Republicans have downplayed the riots, denied President Trump’s role in inciting the violence, and even blamed “both sides” for the attack. Republican Representative Yvette Herrell joined extremists like Marjorie Taylor Greene to vote against certifying the 2020 election results and continues to accept the endorsement of Cowboys for Trump founder Couy Griffin, who was arrested for his role in the violence.

Current GOP officials and candidates, including Yvette Herrell, Steve Pearce, Rebecca Dow, Jay Block, and Mark Ronchetti have failed to condemn the attacks and continue to dodge questions about President Trump’s role in inciting violence. 

DPNM Chair Jessica Velasquez released the following statement regarding the one-year anniversary of the attack on the United States Capitol: 

“One year ago, armed insurrectionists attacked our democracy, spurred on by deliberate misinformation about our elections and violent rhetoric from the president himself. Since then, New Mexico Republicans have failed again and again to stand up for our most basic democratic principles and condemn those responsible. This cowardice is unconscionable and will not be forgotten by the people of New Mexico.” 


Help Protect Our Democracy

Join today to make sure that New Mexico continues to elect Democrats who will protect our democracy and uphold our ideals