DPNM Announces New Statewide Officers at Spring 2021 Meeting

The Latest

DPNM Announces New Statewide Officers at Spring 2021 Meeting

Voting Was Conducted Through Absentee Balloting in Accordance with DPNM Rules

The Democratic Party of New Mexico (DPNM) today held a biannual State Central Committee (SCC) meeting to bring together party leaders and announce the results of the party elections for statewide officers. Voting for statewide officer positions took place over a 58 hour period using DPNM’s absentee voting system. 

During the event, leading Democrats welcomed the new SCC members and recognized retiring officers for their success in electing Democrats up-and-down the ballot. Speakers included Senator Ben Ray Luján, Representative Teresa Leger Fernandez, Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver, State Auditor Brian Colón, Land Commissioner Stephanie Garcia Richard, Senator Michael Padilla, Speaker of the House Brian Egolf, and Representative and Candidate for Congress Melanie Stansbury 

Retiring officers DPNM Chair Marg Elliston, DPNM Vice Chair Marcus Porter, and DPNM Treasurer Robert Lara also spoke during the event and expressed their support for the incoming officers. 

The results of the elections were as follows: 

DPNM Chair

Jessica Velasquez – 387 votes

Samia Assed – 37 votes

Laura Lucero Y Ruiz de Gutierrez – 20 votes

Athena Christodoulou – 14 votes

Gerald Miller – 1 vote

Abstain – 5 votes


DPNM Vice Chair

Manny Crespin – 295 votes

Ricardo Damian Artalejo – 156 votes

Gerald Miller – 1 vote

David Montoya – 1 vote

Abstain – 11 votes



Pamelya Herndon – 351 votes

Nicole Olonovich – 45 votes

Torres Leyba – 28 votes

Eli Luna – 20 votes

Gerald Miller – 1 votes

Abstain – 19 votes



Rayellen Smith – 431 votes

Robert Lara – 3 votes

Orlando Jemenez – 1 votes

James Lewis – 1 vote

Gerald Miller – 1 vote

Abstain – 27 votes


“As Chair of the Democratic Party of New Mexico, I have been honored to work alongside our elected officials, activists, and party staff to advance Democratic values and elect strong leaders up and down the ballot,” said outgoing DPNM Chair Marg Elliston. “I’m truly proud of all we’ve accomplished at the local, state, and national level, and I know that this will continue under our new chair, Jessice Velasquez. I look forward to continuing to support the party and help elect Democrats at every level of government.” 

“I’m excited to be stepping into this new role, and I look forward to building on the work of our previous officers,” said incoming DPNM Chair Jessica Velasquez. “As chair, I plan to invest in a 33 county strategy that will help us register voters and recruit candidates to races across New Mexico. Together we can continue to elect Democrats up-and-down the ballot and keep moving our state forward.” 


Your contribution will be used in connection with federal elections. Federal law requires us to use our best efforts to collect and report the names, mailing addresses, occupation and name of employer of the individuals whose contributions exceed $200 per calendar year. Contributions are not tax deductible for state and federal income tax purposes.

© 2018 Paid for by the Democratic Party of New Mexico and not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.

Site made with by Scotch Digital DC

Help Protect Our Democracy

Join today to make sure that New Mexico continues to elect Democrats who will protect our democracy and uphold our ideals