DPNM Statement on Representative Deb Haaland’s Nomination as Secretary of the Interior

The Latest

DPNM Statement on Representative Deb Haaland’s Nomination as Secretary of the Interior

President-elect Joe Biden today announced that Representative Deb Haaland (NM-01) will be nominated to join the Biden administration as Secretary of the Interior, making history as the first Native person to hold the office. Representative Haaland is a longtime community organizer, a former DPNM Chair, and was recently re-elected to her second term representing New Mexico’s first district. As Secretary of the Interior, she would be a leader in delivering on the Biden administration’s promises to address climate change, conserve public lands, and meet the needs of Native communities. 

“Representative Haaland’s historic nomination as Secretary of the Interior is a testament to her years of dedicated service and passionate leadership both in New Mexico and in the United States Congress through her role as Vice Chair of the House Natural Resources Committee and Co-Chair of the Congressional Native American Caucus,” said DPNM Chair Marg Elliston. “Representative Haaland will be an advocate for tribal communities as she works to protect tribal sovereignty, preserve public lands, and address the ongoing threat of climate change. We know that she will continue to proudly represent New Mexico and tribal communities across the nation as she joins President Biden’s cabinet.” 


Your contribution will be used in connection with federal elections. Federal law requires us to use our best efforts to collect and report the names, mailing addresses, occupation and name of employer of the individuals whose contributions exceed $200 per calendar year. Contributions are not tax deductible for state and federal income tax purposes.

© 2018 Paid for by the Democratic Party of New Mexico and not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.

Site made with by Scotch Digital DC

Help Protect Our Democracy

Join today to make sure that New Mexico continues to elect Democrats who will protect our democracy and uphold our ideals