DPNM Statement on the Election of NADCNM Officers

DPNM Statement on the Election of NADCNM Officers

The Native American Democratic Caucus of New Mexico (NADCNM) elected new officers this month, selecting Isaac Dakota Casados as Chair, Songtree Pioche as Vice Chair, Nathana Bird as Secretary and Lyle Lomayma as Treasurer. These officers have pledged to continue NADCNM’s work to uplift Native voices within New Mexico’s Democratic party, emphasize issues important to tribal communities, and increase political involvement among Native Americans in New Mexico. 

The Democratic Party of New Mexico (DPNM) works closely with NADCNM to advance these goals, and to facilitate communication between party leadership and tribal communities. This work is led by DPNM’s Tribal Outreach Organizer, Kianna Holian, who has been working full time to build relationships and strengthen these lines of communication since 2020. 

The new officers include members of many different tribes and nations, including the Navajo Nation, Taos Pueblo, Ohkay Owingeh, Kewa Pueblo, Santa Clara Pueblo, and the Hopi Tribe. They will succeed Aleta “Tweety” Suazo, Rebecca Touchin, and Michael Melendez in their roles. 

“Congratulations to the new officers of the Native American Democratic Caucus and thank you to the outgoing officers for their hard work and dedication,” said DPNM Chair Jessica Velasquez. “We are grateful to NADCNM for their ongoing effort to ensure that Native American voices are heard and respected in New Mexico politics. We look forward to being an active partner and a resource for the caucus as we work toward our shared goal to expand political participation on tribal lands.”


Help Protect Our Democracy

Join today to make sure that New Mexico continues to elect Democrats who will protect our democracy and uphold our ideals